top of page

Ever wondered what Nameste means?

If you go to yoga pretty regularly, or you go to different classes or workshops you may hear your teacher end a class with the word Nameste. I know I end all my classes like this.

Well, what does it actually mean and why do we say it? I don't really want to go deep and philosophical here, (and I could) so I'm going to give an explanation in my own way.

To me, Nameste, conveys a message of respect. When I use it in my class I want to say to my students that I respect what they bring to my class, whether they bring tension, tiredness, boundless energy, humour...I don't mind. I honour and respect where they are coming from,and if they respond to me with Nameste that's even nicer!!!!

So, that's a very simplified explanation, but I hope it helps.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page